Student Services

Zion Elementary School District 6 offers a full continuum of special education services. Special education is instruction and related services provided by special education personnel or by a general education program that has been modified through the use of special education support services, supplementary aids, or other special programming.

District 6 follows the state and federal laws that establish criteria for special education eligibility. The federal government recognizes 13 categories under which children may qualify for special education. These disabilities include: autism, deaf-blindness, deafness, emotional disorder, hearing impairment, mental retardation, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, speech or language impairment, traumatic brain injury, and visual impairment.

District 6 develops individualized programs that align with each child’s individualized needs.  This program is developed with the goal of meeting each child’s educational need in the least restrictive environment. 

Individualized Programs/Services Offered At Zion Elementary District 6

Birth To Three
Early Childhood
K-8 Services
Related Services

 

 

Meet Our Team

J Kowalik Headshot Photograph

Joey Kowalik
Director of Student Services
jkowalik@zion6.org
847-379-0123

__________________________________________________




Not Pictured




   B. Shorey Headshot
 Sean Connolly
Student Services 
Coordinator

   Ben Shorey
Student Services 
Facilitator

sconnolly@zion6.org
847-379-0126
  bshorey@zion6.org
847-379-0144
     
E. Rivera headshot
   S. Carmody Headshot
Esther Rivera
Student Services
Specialist

   Sharon Carmody
Administrative 
Assistant
erivera@zion6.org
847-379-0081
  scarmody@zion6.org
847-379-0122
     
R. Martinez Headshot     
 Rosa Martinez
District Registrar
   
 rmartinez@zion6.org
847-379-0106
   

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.